• DFI Europe
  • DFI Trust

DFI Educational Trust Awards Scholarships at the University of Illinois and Auburn University

The Deep Foundations Institute (DFI) Educational Trust recently awarded 14 scholarships to civil engineering students focusing on geotechnical and/or environmental engineering at the University of Illinois and Auburn University.

The recipient of the Langan/Dennis J. Leary Memorial Scholarship was University of Illinois junior, Eleftherios Monaxios. The scholarship is named for Dennis J. Leary, a partner at Langan and a graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The scholarship is part of the Trust’s Langan Engineering and Environmental Services Legacy Fund, which was established in 2015 with a $200,000 donation from Langan Engineering & Environmental Services and an additional contribution of more than $100,000 generously made by many principals of Langan.

The recipients of the Charles J. Berkel Memorial Scholarship at the University of Illinois were David Kiepic, Kayla O’Sullivan and Elisabeth Tarpey. The recipients at Auburn University were Garrett Smith, Sarah Bacon, Robert Miles, Nicole Reed, Brooke Earls, Kelly Turner, Jared Allen, Megan Foshee, Jacob DeBusk and Christy Manning. The scholarship is named in memory of Charles J. Berkel, chairman of the board of Berkel & Company Contractors, Inc., and a graduate of the University of Illinois. Berkel generously committed $1 million to the DFI Educational Trust to create this scholarship endowment fund.